+44 (0)113 218 1010

[javascript protected email address]

Tour de Yorkshire 2016

Tour de Yorkshire

2016 marks the second annual Tour de Yorkshire. The three-day legacy event began life after the Grand Depart of 2014‘s Tour de France which famously started on the front steps of Harewood House.

The 2016 route will again feature three stages. Here is a brief summary:

  • Stage 1: Friday 29th April: Beverley to Settle
    • Total stage length: 185km
    • 2 x sprint points (Bubwith, Giggleswick)
    • 1 x King of the Mountain (Greenhow Hill)
    • Total ascent: 1,832m
  • Stage 2: Saturday 30th April: Otley to Doncaster
    • Total stage length: 136km
    • Same route for men and women
    • 2 x sprint points (Scholes, Warmsworth)
    • 3 x King/ Queen of the Mountain (Harewood Bank, East Rigton, Conisbrough Castle)
    • Total ascent: 1,110m
  • Stage 3: Sunday 1st May: Middlesbrough to Scarbrough
    • Total stage length: 198km
    • 2 x sprint points (Thirsk and Whitby Abbey)
    • 6 x King of the Mountain (Sutton Bank, Blakey Ridge, Grosmont, Robin Hood’s Bay, Harwood Dale and Oliver’s Mount)
    • Total ascent: 2,593m

Stage 2 will see riders tackle Harewood Bank. There will be rolling road closures which have been announced as per the below:

  • Women’s race will be at Harewood 08:35 (road closed approx. 08:15 to 08:45 hrs, 09:00 latest)
  • Men’s race will be at Harewood 14:55 (road closure approx. 14:40 to 15:15 hrs, 15.45 latest)

Access to Harewood should be largely unrestricted if you would like to visit on the day. If you’re watching the event from the roadside, why not come to Harewood and make a day of it? See where the 2014 Grand Depart began and enjoy everything Harewood has to offer. You can explore Harewood online here.

Read full details about the race here.